top of page

Natural Nutrition for Dogs and Cats by Kymythy Schultz Book Review


I was really excited to read this book. It's an older book so I thought maybe there would be classic information in it pertaining to a raw diet. The book was much more focused on raw feeding than many other "natural" feeding books I have read, but I was extremely disappointed to find out that the author endorses the use of carbohydrates like fruits and vegetables.

The book I believe was intended to get pet owners started on a raw food diet. It indeed was a quick read, but I felt it was written off of an outline as sentences were quite short almost like a list. I also felt there was missing information especially regarding proportions that many pet owners would need to get started. I felt like this was a very basic guide. Although the book wasn't terrible I was hoping for more information. It left unanswered questions that I would have asked if I was new to raw feeding. There were personal accounts, but i felt the book was more of a testimonial to the fact that many people converted to her methods of feeding versus convincing the read that this truly was the best diet.

It's a good starter but i wouldn't recommend it entirely for a new raw feeder. Kymythy does (or at least used to) hold seminars and classes on natural diets so maybe her lectures are more informative.

I give this book a 3-star rating.


Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page